Located northeast of St Chinian, this village is well-known for the quality of its wine, unique for the schist found in the soil (St Chinian Berlou appellation).
The name of the village comes from the name of the creek ‘Rieuberlou’ a Gallic word which means watercress and not because of the presence of wolves which roamed the Albières forest up to the middle of 19th century.
This territory has been inhabited since Antiquity, due to its microclimate, the game-filled forest which surrounds it and the irrigation from the Rieuberlou and mineral deposits.
Archeological objects found in the area prove that wine was consumed as early as the 2nd century BC and that olive oil was made in the Gallo-roman era.
Up to 1956, olive trees were planted alongside the vine and an oil mill operated until the 19th century.
The Albieres royal forest surrounded a twelve-century castle, now in ruins.
Nowadays, this village is still a vintners’ village.
The heart of the village
Four orientation tables are set up in the vineyard (on the road to Prades sur Vernazobres) and indicate the characteristics of the different terrains as well as the geological environment. They also provide information on fauna and flora
The Paleontological Museum "Maison du Cambrien" 06 84 63 19 41
Find accomodation for your holiday in Berlou (Hérault) : holiday rental, cottages, bed and breakfast, camping nearby, Hotel , accomodation for groups
Find a restaurant in Berlou
Find local producers (winemakers cellars)
Discover leisure activities
Discover the paleontological museum in Berlou
Up coming events
Tourism Office Caroux in Haut-Languedoc
Information center in "Les Coteaux de Berlou" wine cellars, opened year-round
1 avenue des mimosas 34360 Berlou
33 (0)4 67 89 58 58